Laureates celebrate their win on stage with a giant cheque.

2018 ARCTIC INSPIRATION PRIZE Photo by Alistair Maitland Photography

January 21, 2020

Join us in Celebrating Northern Innovation

For the past eight years, the Arctic Inspiration Prize has encouraged, enabled and celebrated the inspiring achievements of the people of the North. The laureates represent some of the most innovative teams and projects in the North today, and they are making a real difference in their communities and for all of Canada.

With up the $3 million in prize money being awarded, the annual AIP Awards Ceremony is an event not to be missed, and always features performers and public figures from across the North. This year, the 8th Annual AIP Awards Ceremony is taking place February 5 at the Shaw Centre in Ottawa, and will be hosted by Nunavut’s Thomas Anguti Johnston, actor, writer and film maker, and CBC North’s Christine Genier, Yukoner and citizen of the Táän Kwách’än Council.

This year’s performers will include some of the North’s most talented artists, performing under the masterful direction of the NWT’s Juno award winner Leela Gilday: Deantha Edmunds, Inuk classical soloist; the guitar-fiddle duo of Yukoners Boyd Benjamin and Kevin Barr; Iqaluit’s Sylvia Cloutier; Dene Orator Lawrence Nayally, and Arctic Soul icons, Josh Q and The Trade-Offs.

Read about this year’s finalists, all competing for a portion of up to $3 million across three categories. The projects vary in scope and focus, but each and every one demonstrates the potential to generate lasting impact across Canada’s North.

This year’s awards ceremony is being held in conjunction with the Northern Lights Business and Cultural Showcase. Tickets are available through the Northern Lights registration page.

Unable to join the celebration in Ottawa? No problem! This year’s AIP Awards Ceremony will be livestreamed, thanks to our partners at APTN. Watch the ceremony live at

Get the latest updates
A group of youth, walking and laughing
Sign up for the RHF newsletter and receive news directly to your inbox
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.